What are the Water Quality Association (WQA) and Master Water Specialist (MWS)?

Master Water Specialist (MWS)Water Quality Association (WQA)

The water filtration industry is huge industry, and extremely competitive. So how can you be assured that you are working with qualified companies? The American-based Water Quality Association, (WQA) is the main trade association representing the residential, commercial, industrial, and small community water treatment industry, representing more than 2,500 manufacturers, suppliers, and dealers worldwide. Its goal is to ensure integrity in the water treatment industry through various certification programs. Nearly all respectable water filtration companies will be a member of WQA because it represents the integrity of an industry that is so crucial to our health and living standards.

Professional Certification Through Education

WQA Modular Education Program

WQA Modular Education Program
To certify the quality and integrity of water professionals, the WQA has a rigorous certification program. The candidate must complete the WQA Modular Education Program course work while participating in an apprenticeship program, and then pass a comprehensive examination that covers a broad range of water industry knowledge to be certified. Certification is given in two levels.

Certified Water Specialist (CWS)

CWS certifies that the candidate has mastered the basics of water filtration technologies, residential applications, and installation practices. The candidate must pass an examination which is generally taken after approximately 9 months of course study and apprenticeship under an experienced mentor.

Master Water Specialist (MWS)
MWS certification requires a minimum of 5 years of field experience in water treatment. The candidate must pass a series of examinations covering a broad range of knowledge including residential, commercial, and industrial water processes, disinfection and sanitation, water chemistry, a vast array of filtration technologies, and regulatory and legal standards. Certifications for both CWS and MWS are valid for 3 years and maintaining certification requires completion of ongoing education for recertification.

Matthew Barta MWS
Matthew Barta has worked with Puricom for over 25 years and has represented Puricom to companies in over 27 countries around the world facing a broad range of challenges. Matthew majored in biology and chemistry at the University of Minnesota, laying his foundation in the water filtration industry. In 2012 Matthew Barta was certified as CWS, and in 2015 received MWS certification.

As a member of the WQA with a Master Water Specialist on staff, Puricom is confident we can face any challenge in the water filtration industry. We are here to help and we always welcome your questions and hope to make your water experience as enjoyable as possible. If you would like to know more about the Water Quality Association, WQA product certification, and WQA certified professionals, visit them at wqa.org